GLUTEN CONTAINING INGREDIENTS

 

Many ingredients and foods naturally contain gluten, others have gluten added to them.   For the list below assume all have gluten unless they have been processed to remove it and they are labeled gluten free.

  • Ale
  • Atta
  • Barley
  • Barley Malt
  • Beer (unless gluten-free)
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Communion Wafers (unless gluten-free)
  • Dinkel or Spelt
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Fu (it is made from gluten, used in vegetarian cooking as a meat substitute)
  • Graham Crackers or Flour
  • Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
  • LagerMalt or any product containing malt
  • Matzo or any product made with matzo (unless gluten-free)
  • Rye
  • Sea legs (Imitation crab meat and lobster, usually contains gluten)
  • Seasoning blends (need to be checked for gluten)
  • Seitan (it is made from gluten, used in vegetarian cooking as a meat substitute)
  • Semolina
  • Soy Sauce (made with wheat, unless gluten-free)
  • Triticale
  • Wheat, or Wheat Bran, or Wheat Flour, Wheat Germ, or *Wheat Starch
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Other wheat grains: Einkorn, Emmer, Faro, Kamut, Spelt

* Wheat Starch: While it may be possible for wheat starch to be gluten-free, it can only happen when the starch is processed to remove the gluten.  Based on the new gluten-free labeling laws a food must have  <20ppm (parts per million) of gluten to be labeled gluten free.

A great resource if you are living with Celiac disease is the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center.  

The University of Chicago's Celiac disease center has a wealth of information about classes, workshops, tips to navigate through a diet that is special.

Print Friendly

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment